Main organs of the central nervous system

Main organs of the central nervous system

We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.


O bulb (or ablonga medulla) is the organ that is in direct contact with the spinal cord, is the passageway of nerves to the organs located higher up.

In the bulb are located cell bodies of neurons that control vital functions, like the heart beats, O breathing rhythm and the blood pressure. It also contains cell bodies of neurons related to swallowing, coughing and vomiting control.


Organ that regulates balance and the body posture in the environment. It is linked to peripheral receptors located in the inner ear (maze) that send messages to the balance control center located in the cerebellum. The success of a tightrope walker who crosses two buildings, supported by a simple wire stretched between them, depends on good cerebellar activity.

Attention! Alcohol interferes with cerebellar activities, which is easy to notice in people who abuse alcohol.


Brain organ formed mainly by the thalamus and hypothalamus. The hypothalamus contains control centers of the body temperature, of appetite, gives thirst, sleep and certain emotions. Main intermediate between the nervous system and the hormonal system, the hypothalamus is linked to the pituitary gland, the main endocrine gland. When the hypothalamus detects changes in the body, it releases neurotransmitters that act on the pituitary gland. In turn, it releases or inhibits the secretion of its own hormones that regulate various metabolic activities.


It's the center of intellect, gives memory, gives consciousness and from language. It controls our sensations and motor functions. About 70% of brain nerve cells are located in the brain, the most developed part of our nervous system and is separated into two hemispheres, joined together by a region known as the corpus callosum. Each cerebral hemisphere, in turn, has innumerable invaginations called grooves.
Deeper grooves divide each hemisphere into four regions called lobes: the frontal, the parietal, the temporal, and the occipital. The central groove is the most pronounced and separates the frontal and parietal lobes.

Cerebral cortex

The surface of the brain, from 2mm to 4mm thick, is known as the cerebral cortex, and consists of several layers of cell bodies of millions of neurons, giving this region a grayish color from which it dominates. gray matter of the brain.

At fibers (axons and dendrites) of neurons that leave and reach the cerebral cortex are located more internally, and constitute the white matter of the brain, due to the existence of myelin that surrounds these fibers.